The Life of a Nomad

A lot of times life decides to go by so fast that I don’t even realize the lack of blogging that has happened in the last two or three months. Consequently, when I finally try to blog my brain explodes with thousands of thoughts because so much has happened since the last time I committed memories to this blog.

I got the wonderful blessing of having my family come visit during our Easter half-term. I’m so glad that they got to experience where I live and work. They got to meet all the people that I get to share life with while I’m here. We tried to show them the highlights of Teeside during their short stay here. Then we ventured to London for part two. We got to ride the London Eye and see the show Wicked, which I am now obsessed with. I’m sure we looked really American trying to work our way around the city. I have to say, it was really weird having my parents in England. From my perspective, this is my world, I have my life here, and then I have my life back at home. It was definitely a collision of two different realities for me.

Image

I decided to take the opportunity to check something off my bucket list while I’m here. Bungee jumping? Why not. The idea was to do it to raise some money for Youth for Christ. I’ll let you know how it goes. If you’d like to see our clever preview video, please do so.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jwCrNCLfp7k

I only have about three months left of this adventure. I really can’t even imagine going home, leaving all these people and this town. I seriously considered staying another year, because my heart dropped whenever I thought about leaving all the kids that I worked with. I was scared that I hadn’t done enough to affect this place, I was scared that I hadn’t changed anyone’s life yet. Then I realized that I was never going to change anyone’s life. That was never my job. God is the only one that can pierce into someone’s soul and change it for all eternity. All I can do here is live in His will, allow as much of His light to shine through me as possible, and hope that it can help someone find Him. But its not my light, I’m just an instrument. As much as He has used me here, I pray that He will multiply that wherever I go next.

When I moved to England, God so clearly pushed me out of my comfort zone, I knew I had to lean on Him completely. I have grown more this year than any other time in my life, as a person as well as closer to the heart of God. But now England is my comfort zone, as crazy as that may seem. I’m scared to go home, because I don’t know what the next steps are for me, or how I am going to work for the Kingdom when I’m a student at the University of Georgia. For me that means that I will have to lean completely on God once again. As soon as I think that I can handle things by myself, God pulls me back to Him, closer each time than the last, so that I know that my relationship with Him will grow more and more every day. In the wise words of C.S. Lewis,

In religion, as in war and everything else, comfort is the one thing you cannot get by looking for it. If you look for truth, you may find comfort in the end: if you look for comfort you will not get either comfort or truth.

There is no limit. There is no destination on this earth. I’m just a nomad.

no·mad [noh-mad] (n.) – a member of a people or tribe that has no permanent abode but moves about from place to place; any wanderer

My dwelling is not found on this earth, but in Christ. That is why we must fix our thoughts on the things unseen. Anything that we can perceive as humans is nothing in comparison to His eternal promises. Humans have this perverse sense of ownership in this world. I’m guilty of it as well. I’m not talking about just material possessions. Our time, our talents, and our treasures. If we’re not glorifying God with them then we’re doing it wrong. Take this world and give me Jesus. As long as the Holy Sprit dwells in me, there will always be another adventure, because God will not be finished with me until the day I get to be with Him forever. So why would I want to settle down when I could live the fascinating life of a nomad.

One thought on “The Life of a Nomad

  1. Oh sweet girl, I love your beautiful heart. I adore your nomad perspective and your words spoke straight to my own heart. I have an unfinished email that I’ve been slowly working on between lunch breaks at work (when I get them… the office can be crazy most days!) but for now I’ll just send this little message and let you know that I love you, I’m praying for you, and I really don’t want you to jump off of a bridge. Okloveyoubye 🙂

Leave a Reply

