Countless Wonders

He counts the stars and calls them all by name. How great is our Lord! His power is absolute! His understanding is beyond comprehension! [Psalm 147:4-5]

There are some moments after which one cannot help but be in awe of our Creator. There are some things that, as a human, I will never be able to fully comprehend. And there are some experiences that I will never be able to fully describe with any words. One of the many advantages of being on a gap year are the amazing opportunities I get to experience more of the world, and this weekend, it was Scotland.

14 people, 1 minibus, 4 cities, 21 hours, and countless unforgettable moments. I don’t know how many people have attempted to tour Scotland in less that a day, but I was more than impressed by our effort. We hit Edinburgh, St. Andrews, Aberdeen, and reached our final destination of Fraserburgh. Originally, this trip was planned as some crazy attempt to see the Northern Lights. Although that didn’t happen, it was an unforgettable and very long day.

Image

I have to say that I have been blessed beyond belief with the team that I am surrounded with. I absolutely love the fact that God hand-picked us from so many different places, knowing that we would all end up working together in northeast England, all with the same passion to further His kingdom. I love that we get to do life together, and have these insane experiences. Most of all I love that we all challenge each other in our relationships with God, because we can all be honest and learn from each other.

Image

There’s one picture missing. I don’t think many of us even attempted to capture the moment on camera. Let me tell you about these stars. I’m from a pretty small town, and I thought I knew stars. Go to the northeast corner of Scotland, near the coast, where there are no big cities around. Then you will know stars. I have no words. Actually I take that back I have a few. I have never seen anything like that in my entire life, to the point where it gave me a new understanding of the infinite magnitude of our God. So there’s all of us, standing on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere, of course its freezing so we’re all in this backwards huddle staring at the sky. So then all we can manage to do is voice the ways in which our God is indescribable, and sing praises to our Father.

I pray that to some degree, you can all have an experience this week that causes you to pause and consider the awe-inspiring greatness of our indescribable God. So let me leave you with a quote from Louie Giglio and Matt Redman’s book, Indescribable.

We are surrounded by grand and glorious cosmos, heavens beyond our comprehension. Just how big we do not know, but we do know that even in light of humanity’s great inventions, the stars have a way of drowning out our fuss–reducing our earthly clatter with their sheer immensity all while heightening a sense of mystery and wonder within our souls. You don’t have to be an astronomer or have any scientific interest to be suddenly swept away by their vastness and beauty. All you have to do is look up.

In His Name,

Angela

Leave a Reply

