Experiencing His Mighty Power

Yesterday at our church youth group, I was trying to explain to this group of about 30 kids what I was doing in England for a year and how I made the decision to come here. I wasn’t surprised by the question. I have answered it countless times in the past few weeks. What I was surprised by was the fact that I had a lot more trouble answering the question this time. These are the kids that I am going to be spending the most time with in the coming year. This is where I have a chance to really make a difference in the lives of people. I looked around at this group, all of them awesome kids, but most of them not truly understanding what living for Jesus really means. I have been so blessed to have godly influences that poured into me as a young person. They taught me how to live for the One who died for me, and now I have to go share this blessing with others. 

So I tried to explain what I was doing in England. I tried to hold back the tears as I told them that God had broken my heart for this place just a few months ago. I told them that God had changed my plans, and led me away from my home, my friends, my college, and everything I was comfortable with. I told them that I wanted to be there for them, that if they ever needed anything at all, I was there to help. I really can’t wait to see what God does through this ministry within the next year. I’m also getting the chance to lead a girl’s bible study during the week. That’s really where my heart is, so I can’t wait to build these relationships and hear their stories.

Check out my inspiration for the week, Philippians 3:8-11.

“Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ. For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith.  I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, so that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead!”

That is without a doubt one of the most powerful scriptural encouragements I have ever had. While I’m here, it is important for me to keep everything in perspective. This year has already been an awesome opportunity to live focused on Christ, but just like anywhere else, there are distractions and temptations that the Devil will try to put in my way. Everything else is worthless, and I want to count it all as garbage for the sake of Christ. What an awesome concept to live completely immersed in His love. I want to experience His mighty power, and I am confident and expectant that it is completely tangible and possible, if I live all-in for Him.

 

Another awesome place to pray with the team. We went for a nice walk at Lordstones. I am continually amazed at this awesome group of people that God has called together.

Image

 

Please continue to send prayers our way as we work to impact this place for the Kingdom. I am so excited about what is to come and the opportunities that we are going to have!

Much Love,

Angela

Leave a Reply

